National Indigenous History Month 2021

National Indigenous History Month 2021 honours the history, heritage, and diversity of Indigenous peoples in Canada. It is also an opportunity to recognize the strength of present-day Indigenous communities. The Government of Canada is encouraging Canadians to learn more about the history of First Nations, Inuit and Métis peoples and their contributions to the cultural fabric of Canada. This year, National Indigenous History Month is dedicated to the missing children, the families left behind and the survivors of residential schools.

As part of National Indigenous History Month 2021, Parks Canada is highlighting three designations of national historic significance that focus on different aspects of the history and the culture of Indigenous peoples in Canada.

Warning!
Reading about Residential Schools might be triggering or distressing. A National Indian Residential School Crisis Line has been set up to provide support for former Residential School students and their families. Please call the Crisis Line at Phone number1-866-925-4419 if you or someone you know is triggered while reading the content on this website.

Large building
Former Shubenacadie Indian Residential School, Shubenacadie, Nova Scotia
© Sisters of Charity, Halifax, Congregational Archives

The Residential School System National Historic Event

The Residential School System is a tragedy born from colonial policies in Canada’s history. It is one that has had negative effects on generations of Indigenous peoples with enduring impacts on First Nation, Inuit and Métis communities, cultures, economies, traditional knowledge and ways of life, languages, family structures, and connections to the land. On September 1, 2020, the Government of Canada designated the Residential School System as a national historic event, and also designated as national historic sites the former Portage La Prairie Indian Residential School in Manitoba and the former Shubenacadie Indian Residential School in Nova Scotia.


A man standing with a camera
Peter Pitseolak with his 122 camera
© Aggeok Pitseolak, [1946-1947] / Canadian Museum of History, 2000-181

Peter Pitseolak National Historic Person

Location: Cape Dorset, Nunavut

Aware that Inuit culture was undergoing momentous change, Peter Pitseolak took care to record both the old customs and beliefs of his people and their adjustment to a new life. His carvings, prints and photography have been highly acclaimed both for their historical importance and their artistic quality. A man of great versatility, Pitseolak furnished a valuable account of the recent history of Sikusuilaq (southern Baffin Island) where he spent most of his life.


Building and landscape
Facilities and view at Ehdaa
© Madison Pilling, Lı́ı́dlı̨ı̨ Kų́ę́ First Nation

Ehdaa National Historic Site of Canada

Location: Fort Simpson, Northwest Territories

Ehdaa has been a traditional gathering place for the Lı́ı́dlı̨ı̨ Kų́ę́ Dene since long before the arrival of Europeans. In the past, people met annually at this site to renew old ties, trade, decide on harvesting areas, resolve disputes and to participate in ceremonies of healing and thanksgiving. With the arrival of the fur trade period, the Dene used this site to camp when they came to exchange their goods. From the fur trade period and through to the signing of Treaty 11 in 1921, the site remains important to the Lı́ı́dlı̨ı̨ Kų́ę́ Dene who renew their ongoing connection to the place with seasonal celebrations at the Drum Circle.


Are you aware of a subject related to the history of Indigenous peoples, or any person, place or event that may have national historical significance? Learn more about the nomination process to apply for a designation.


The mandate of the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada is to advise the Government of Canada, through the Minister of the Environment and Climate Change, on the commemoration of nationally significant aspects of Canada's history.

Following an evaluation process and recommendation by the Board, the Minister has the authority to designate a site, event or person of national historic significance.

In addition to advising on designations of national historic significance, the Board provides advice on the following laws and programs:

National Historic Sites System Plan

We are pleased to share the Framework for History and Commemoration: National Historic Sites System Plan 2019. This framework provides strategic direction for Parks Canada and the Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada (HSMBC) in their work to recognize and share our country’s rich history and engage Canadians in their past.

The Framework for History and Commemoration outlines a new, comprehensive, and engaging approach to sharing the stories of Canada’s history through diverse, wide-ranging, and sometimes complex perspectives, including the difficult periods of our past. In particular, it will ensure that the history and voices of Indigenous peoples are incorporated at Parks Canada’s heritage places.

For the work of the HSMBC, this plan identifies strategic priorities that will encourage new and diverse types of public nominations for persons, places, and events of national historic significance. It also outlines a process for the careful review of existing designations and acknowledges the need to adapt the policies and practices of the Board.

Mois national de l’histoire autochtone 2021

Le Mois national de l’histoire autochtone 2021 rend hommage à l’histoire, au patrimoine et à la diversité des peuples autochtones au Canada. C’est aussi l’occasion de reconnaître la force des communautés autochtones d’aujourd’hui. Le gouvernement du Canada encourage les Canadiens à en apprendre davantage sur l’histoire des Premières nations, des Inuits et des Métis et leurs contributions au tissu culturel du Canada. Cette année, le Mois national de l'histoire autochtone est consacré aux enfants disparus, aux familles qu'ils ont laissées derrière eux et aux survivants des pensionnats.

Afin de souligner le Mois national de l’histoire autochtone 2021, Parcs Canada présente trois désignations d’importance historique nationale qui mettent l’accent sur les divers aspects de l’histoire et de la culture des peuples autochtones au Canada.

Avertissement !
Lire au sujet des pensionnats autochtones peut être pénible et déclencher un sentiment de détresse. Une ligne d'écoute téléphonique des pensionnats indiens a été établie au niveau national pour offrir un soutien aux anciens élèves et à leurs familles. Appelez la ligne d'écoute téléphonique au numéro de téléphone1-866-925-4419 si vous ou quelqu'un que vous connaissez souffre d'un traumatisme en lisant le contenu de ce site Web.

Grand immeuble
L’ancien pensionnat indien de Shubenacadie, Shubenacadie, Nouvelle-Écosse
© Soeurs de la Charité, Halifax, Archives de la congrégation

L’événement historique national du système des pensionnats autochtones

Le système des pensionnats autochtones est une tragédie née des politiques coloniales dans l'histoire du Canada. Elle a eu des effets négatifs sur des générations de peuples autochtones, entrainant des impacts durables sur les communautés, les cultures, les économies, les savoirs traditionnels et les modes de vie, les langues, les structures familiales et les liens des Premières Nations, des Inuits et des Métis avec le territoire. Le 1er septembre 2020, le gouvernement du Canada a désigné le système des pensionnats autochtones comme événement historique national et a également désigné comme lieux historiques nationaux l'ancien pensionnat indien de Portage La Prairie au Manitoba et l'ancien pensionnat indien de Shubenacadie en Nouvelle-Écosse.


Homme debout
Peter Pitseolak avec sa caméra 122
© Aggeok Pitseolak, [1946-1947] / Musée canadien de l’histoire, 2000-181

Personnage historique national de Peter Pitseolak

Emplacement : Cape Dorset, Nunavut

Conscient des bouleversements subis par la culture inuite, Peter Pitseolak a voulu laisser un témoignage des croyances, des coutumes et du nouveau mode de vie de son peuple. Ses sculptures, peintures et photographies sont reconnues pour leur valeur historique et artistique. Doué de talents divers, il a aussi fourni une chronique de Sikusuilaq, la région sud de l’île de Baffin, où il a passé la plus grande partie de sa vie.


Bâtiment et paysage
Installations et vue d’Ehdaa
© Madison Pilling, Première Nation Lı́ı́dlı̨ı̨ Kų́ę́

Lieu historique national du Canada d’Ehdaa

Emplacement : Fort Simpson, Territoire du Nord-Ouest

Bien avant l’arrivée des Européens, Ehdaa était un lieu de rencontre des Dénés Lı́ı́dlı̨ı̨ Kų́ę́. Les peuples s’y rendaient chaque année pour renouer des liens, négocier, répartir des territoires de récolte, résoudre des différends et participer à des cérémonies de ressourcement et de reconnaissance. Au temps du commerce des fourrures, les Dénés y établissaient leur campement lorsqu’ils venaient échanger des marchandises. À l’époque de la traite des fourrures ou de la signature du Traité no 11 (1921), les Dénés de Lı́ı́dlı̨ı̨ Kų́ę́ ont toujours accordé une grande importance à ce lieu avec lequel ils renouvellent leur lien en organisant des célébrations saisonnières au cercle du tambour.


Connaissez-vous un sujet lié à l’histoire des peuples autochtones, ou une personne, un lieu ou un évènement pouvant être d’importance historique nationale? Apprenez-en davantage sur le processus pour présenter une demande de désignation.


La Commission a pour mandat de conseiller le ministre de l'Environnement et du Changement climatique et, par son entremise, le gouvernement du Canada, sur la commémoration d'aspects de l'histoire du Canada qui revêtent une importance nationale.

À la suite d’un processus d’évaluation et d’une recommandation favorable de la Commission, le ministre a l’autorité de désigner un lieu, événement ou personnage d’importance historique nationale.

En plus de s'occuper des désignations d'importance historique nationale, la Commission fournit des avis sur les lois et programmes suivants :

Le plan du réseau des lieux historiques nationaux

Nous sommes heureux de présenter Le cadre pour l’histoire et la commémoration : le plan du réseau des lieux historiques nationaux 2019. Ce cadre fournit à Parcs Canada et à la Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada (CLMHC) des lignes directrices qui orientent leur travail de reconnaissance et de mise en valeur de la riche histoire de notre pays et encourage les Canadiens à s’intéresser davantage à leur histoire.

Le cadre pour l’histoire et la commémoration présente une nouvelle démarche permettant une compréhension plus complète et inclusive de l’histoire du Canada selon divers points de vue variés, et parfois complexes, dont les moments difficiles de notre passé. Plus spécifiquement, il permet de s’assurer que les récits et les voix des peuples autochtones sont intégrés aux lieux patrimoniaux de Parcs Canada.

En ce qui a trait du travail de la CLMHC, ce plan définit les priorités stratégiques qui favoriseront de nouvelles désignations variées de personnes, de lieux et d’évènements d’importance historique nationale. Il énonce également un processus de revue approfondie des désignations existantes et souligne le besoin d’adapter les politiques et les pratiques de la Commission.