Iggaak (ilgaak) ᐃᒡᒑᒃ – Inuit snow goggles

Wooden snow goggles, c. 1850, from the Parks Canada National Collection (catalogue number X.77.680.1). It is not known who made them or where. © Parks Canada Agency
For the week of Monday, June 14, 2021

On June 14, 1977, Parks Canada acquired a pair of Inuit snow goggles, known as iggaak (or ilgaak) in Inuktitut, dating to the mid-19th century. They are an important example of one of the earliest types of protective eyewear in the world, which some date as far back as the earliest Inuit period (circa 800 years ago).

Inuit and their ancestors use snow goggles to protect their eyes from the sun’s harmful ultraviolet radiation. This is important because the Arctic experiences constant daylight during the summer—one full 24-hour period coinciding with the summer solstice at the Arctic Circle (66°34’N), and progressively longer periods without a sunset as latitude increases. At the furthest point north—that is, at the North Pole (90°N)—this means six months of continuous daylight each year. Such prolonged sunlight can become dangerous for the eyes, especially when spending long periods on highly reflective ice or snow.

The Arctic sunshine can be associated with snow blindness—a type of sunburn affecting the eyes caused by sunlight reflecting off the snow, which may lead to temporary blindness and eye pain (photokeratitis). To prevent blindness during spring and summer activities, when the sun’s rays are strongest, Inuit and other northern peoples in Arctic countries like Canada devised different means of protecting their eyes.

Made from local materials, such as ivory, wood, caribou antler, bone, leather, whalebone, and baleen, Inuit snow goggles feature small slits that reduce the amount of ultraviolet light that reaches the retina of the eye, considerably reducing the risk of snow blindness. These goggles limit the field of vision, but make sight clearer.

The different climates, geographies, and available materials have resulted in the emergence of several varieties of snow goggles. Some peoples, including the Aleuts, whose homeland includes the Aleutian Islands, use alternatives to goggles, such as visors, which are especially helpful when hunting from a kayak. Today, snow goggles are used less, having been largely replaced by glasses with polarized lenses.

If you wish to know more about this object or others in the Parks Canada National Collection, please contact our curatorial department at pc.conservation-curatorial.pc@canada.ca

June is National Indigenous History Month. Learn more about the diverse histories and cultures of Indigenous Peoples by exploring articles in our online archives about Skmaqn-Port-la-Joye-Fort Amherst, Francis Pegahmagabow (1889–1952), Wii Niisł Puuntk: A Matriarch of the Gitga’at of Hartley Bay, and Weaving Identity: Nlaka’pamux Basket-Making.

Iggaak (ilgaak) ᐃᒡᒑᒃ – Lunettes de neige inuites

Lunettes de neige en bois, vers 1850, dans la collection nationale de Parcs Canada (numéro du catalogue : X.77.680.1). On ignore qui les a fabriquées et à quel endroit. © Agence Parcs Canada
Pour la semaine du lundi 14 juin 2021

Le 14 juin 1977, Parcs Canada a fait l'acquisition d'une paire de lunettes de neige inuites, appelées iggaak (ou ilgaak) en inuktitut, qui datent du milieu du XIXe siècle. Elles sont un exemple précieux de l'un des plus anciens types de lunettes de protection au monde, dont certaines remontent au tout début de la période inuite (il y a environ 800 ans).

Tout comme leurs ancêtres, les Inuits utilisent des lunettes de neige pour protéger leurs yeux des rayons ultraviolets nocifs du soleil. Cette précaution est importante, car la lumière du jour est constante dans l’Arctique pendant l’été, où il y a notamment une période complète de 24 heures lors du solstice d’été au cercle polaire (66°34' N), et des périodes sans coucher de soleil qui s’allongent progressivement à mesure que la latitude augmente. Au point le plus au nord, c’est-à-dire au pôle Nord (90°N), cela se traduit par six mois de lumière du jour continue chaque année. Un ensoleillement aussi prolongé peut devenir dangereux pour les yeux, surtout si l’on passe de longues périodes sur de la glace ou sur de la neige très réfléchissante.

Le soleil de l'Arctique peut être associé à l'ophtalmie des neiges, un type de brûlure des yeux causée par la réflexion du soleil sur la neige, qui peut entraîner une cécité temporaire et des douleurs oculaires (photokératite). Pour prévenir la cécité pendant les activités du printemps et de l’été, lorsque les rayons du soleil sont les plus forts, les Inuits et les autres peuples nordiques des pays arctiques comme le Canada ont conçu différents moyens de protéger leurs yeux.
Fabriquées à partir de matériaux locaux (ivoire, bois, bois de caribou, os, cuir ou fanons de baleine), les lunettes de neige inuites ont de petites fentes qui limitent la quantité de rayons ultraviolets pouvant atteindre la rétine de l’œil, ce qui réduit considérablement le risque d’ophtalmie des neiges. Ces lunettes restreignent le champ de vision, mais rendent la vue plus claire.

La variété des climats, des géographies et des matériaux disponibles a entraîné l’apparition de plusieurs types de lunettes de neige. Certains peuples comme les Aléoutes, qui habitent notamment les îles Aléoutiennes, utilisent des substituts aux lunettes, par exemple des visières qui sont particulièrement utiles pour chasser en kayak. Aujourd'hui, les lunettes de neige sont moins utilisées, ayant été en grande partie remplacées par des lunettes à verres polarisés.

Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur cet objet ou sur d’autres pièces de la collection nationale de Parcs Canada, veuillez communiquer avec notre service de conservation à l’adresse pc.conservation-curatorial.pc@canada.ca.

Juin est le Mois national de l’histoire autochtone. Apprenez-en davantage sur la diversité des histoires et des cultures des Peuples Autochtones en consultant les articles sur Skmaqn-Port-la-Joye-Fort Amherst, Francis Pegahmagabow (1889–1952), Wii Niisł Puuntk : matriarche gitga’at de Hartley Bay, et Tisser son identité : la vannerie nlaka’pamux.