To align with measures introduced by the Province of Nova Scotia to limit the spread of COVID-19, Parks Canada will delay the launch of most visitor services including camping at locations in Nova Scotia until at least June 1, 2021, including Cape Breton Highlands National Park.

The following services and facilities will remain closed to visitors until at least June 1, 2021:

  • Access to visitor reception centres and buildings
  • All campgrounds including front and back country
  • Roofed accommodations, including oTENTik units
  • All interpretation programs, experiences and guided tours

All Parks Canada reservations impacted by this delayed opening will be automatically cancelled and refunded in full. Visitors do not have to do anything to cancel their reservation.

Access and services will be focused on limited autonomous day use of trails and other outdoor settings – green spaces and select washrooms will remain open. If local visitors choose to travel within their municipality, Parks Canada is asking them to be cautious and conservative in their choice of activities and to stay within the bounds of personal knowledge and skill level. Visitors should respect the guidance of public health experts and authorities and make every effort to limit the spread of COVID-19.

One of Canada’s most enchanting places, where the mountains meet the sea.

As you hug the world-famous Cabot Trail coastline you'll wind through Cape Breton Highlands National Park, where lush, forested river canyons carve into the ancient plateau, edged by rust-coloured cliffs.

Keep your eyes open for moose and bald eagles. You might even catch a minke or pilot whale breaking waves in the Atlantic, or Gulf of St. Lawrence. And you’re never far from a steaming plate of local lobster fresh from the ocean around you.

Features

Hours of operation

Open year-round
Visitor services are available from May to October.

More information

Fees

Adult: $7.90
Senior: $6.90
Youth: free
Family/group: $16.00

Detailed fees list

Contact us

902-224-2306
Send an email

Planning to visit during COVID-19?

Click here for details.

Sites nearby

  • Alexander Graham Bell National Historic Site

    Meet the man who would forever transform the modern world. Feel Alexander Graham Bell’s remarkable legend come to life while touring full-scale replicas, touching his personal artefacts and taking part in exhilarating behind-the-scenes tours.

  • Fortress of Louisbourg National Historic Site

    Mingle with Louisbourg’s lively 18th century citizens, hearing their stories and tasting their food while soldiers march, cannons blast, children play and women mend clothes on a typical 1740s day in the French fortified town.

  • Marconi National Historic Site

    Discover how the wireless age began at a museum chronicling inventor Guglielmo Marconi’s achievements in carrying out the world’s first transatlantic wireless telegraph experiments in Nova Scotia at the turn of 20th century.

  • St. Peters Canal National Historic Site

    Located in one of Canada’s oldest European settlements, St. Peters Canal links the Atlantic Ocean with the Bras d'Or Lakes as well as Canada’s historic trading past to Cape Breton Island’s vibrant future.

  • Canso Islands National Historic Site

    Wander an interpretive trail to unveil vital history. Uncover the secrets of an 18th century settlement. Be amazed by the war-torn remains of a stone fortress. Canso Islands National Historic Site brings to life the stories of Atlantic Canada.

Afin de s’harmoniser aux mesures mises en place par la Province de la Nouvelle-Écosse pour limiter la propagation de la COVID-19, Parcs Canada reportera le lancement de la plupart des services aux visiteurs, y compris le camping dans les sites en Nouvelle-Écosse au moins jusqu’au 1er juin 2021, notamment au parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton.

Les visiteurs n’auront pas accès aux services et installations qui suivent au moins jusqu’au 1er juin 2021 :

  • les centres d’accueil et les bâtiments
  • tous les terrains de camping, que ce soit dans l’avant-pays ou dans l’arrière-pays
  • les unités d’hébergement avec toiture, y compris les tentes oTENTik
  • l’ensemble des programmes d’interprétation, des expériences et des visites guidées

Toutes les réservations de Parcs Canada touchées par le report de la date d’ouverture seront automatiquement annulées et entièrement remboursées. Les visiteurs n’ont rien à faire pour annuler leur réservation.

L’accès et les services seront axés sur une fréquentation diurne limitée et autonome des sentiers et des autres lieux extérieurs : les espaces verts et certaines toilettes demeureront ouverts. Si des visiteurs choisissent de se déplacer dans les limites de leur propre municipalité, Parcs Canada leur demande de faire preuve de prudence et de retenue dans leur choix d’activités et de s’en tenir à des choix qui correspondent à leur niveau de connaissances personnelles et d’expérience. Les visiteurs doivent respecter les directives des experts et des responsables de la santé publique et mettre tout en œuvre pour limiter la propagation de la COVID-19.

Lorsque vous longerez les côtes de la célèbre Cabot Trail, vous passerez par le parc national des Hautes-Terres-du-Cap-Breton où des canyons de rivière, présentant une forêt luxuriante, sont creusés dans l’ancien plateau bordé de falaises de couleur rouille.

C’est l’un des endroits les plus fascinants du Canada, un lieu où les montagnes et la mer se rencontrent.

Ouvrez l’œil! Vous pourriez apercevoir un orignal ou un pygargue à tête blanche. Vous pourriez même voir un petit rorqual ou un globicéphale plonger dans les vagues déferlantes de l’océan Atlantique ou dans le golfe du Saint-Laurent. Vous serez toujours à proximité d’une assiette fumante de homard fraîchement sorti de l’océan.

En vedette

Heures d’ouverture

Ouvert toute l'année
Les services aux visiteurs sont disponibles de mai à octobre.

Informations additionelles

Tarifs

Adulte : 7,90 $
Aîné : 6,90 $
Jeune : gratuit
Famille/groupe : 16,00 $

Tarification complète

Nous joindre

902-224-2306
Envoyez un courriel

Vous planifiez une visite durant la COVID-19?

Cliquez ici pour plus de details.

Sites de Parcs Canada à proximité

  • Lieu historique national Alexander-Graham-Bell

    Faites la connaissance de l’homme qui devait transformer à jamais le monde moderne. Voyez la remarquable légende d’Alexander Graham Bell prendre vie grâce aux répliques grandeur nature. Touchez aux objets lui ayant appartenu et participez à d’exaltantes visites dans les coulisses.

  • Lieu historique national de la Forteresse-de-Louisbourg

    Vivez au rythme trépidant des habitants de Louisbourg au 18e siècle. Écoutez leurs histoires et goûtez à leurs mets, vivez une journée type des années 1740 dans la ville fortifiée française. Autour de vous, les soldats marchent au pas, les canons grondent, les enfants jouent et les femmes raccommodent les habits des hommes.

  • Lieu historique national Marconi

    Découvrez comment a commencé l'ère du sans-fil au début du 20e siècle! Au musée, retracez comment l'inventeur Guglielmo Marconi est parvenu, au bout de nombreuses expériences, à transmettre pour la première fois au monde un télégraphe sans fil de l’autre côté de l'Atlantique depuis la Nouvelle-Écosse.

  • Lieu historique national du Canal-de-St.-Peters

    Situé dans l’une des plus anciennes colonies européennes du Canada, le canal de St Peters relie non seulement l’océan Atlantique au lac Bras d’Or, mais aussi le passé commercial du Canada à l’avenir florissant de l’île du Cap-Breton. Partez à sa découverte!

  • Lieu historique national des Îles-Canso

    Le lieu historique national des Îles-Canso donne vie à l’histoire du Canada atlantique. Promenez-vous sur un sentier d’interprétation où des volets essentiels du passé vous seront dévoilés. Découvrez les secrets d’une colonie du 18e siècle. Laissez-vous émerveiller par les vestiges d’une forteresse de pierre ravagée par la guerre.